Basil Chicken (in the crock pot)

Here is a new crock pot recipe that I came up with a few weeks ago and absolutely love it!! And it takes 3 minutes tops to put everything together!

Image

The chicken is in there underneath the millions of other things on my plate!

 

Basil Shredded Chicken

Ingredients:

-5 lbs of chicken breasts (not frozen)

-Sea salt, black pepper, garlic powder, onion powder

-Basil and Italian Seasonings

-1/2 cup Maple Groves brand Fat Free Balsamic Dressing

-1/2 cup Apple Cider Vinegar

-3 tbsp low sodium soy sauce

– 2 tbsp dijon (I didn’t have dijon the last time so I used Jalapeno mustard- still tasted great)

*Directions: Turn crock pot on HIGH. Put chicken in the croc kpot and season each chicken breast with all of the above mentioned seasonings (sea salt, pepper, garlic, onion, basil, and italian seasonings). In a small bowl, mix together the Maple Groves Fat Free Balsamic Dressing, apple cider vinegar, soy sauce, and dijon. Pour the mixture over the chicken and you’re done! 

* I always cook my chicken on the high setting in the crockpot. I usually start the chicken cooking at about 8:00 PM or so and turn the crock pot to the “Low” setting in the morning when I wake up around 7:00 AM. When I get home around 3:00 PM, I turn it off and put the chicken in my tupperwares. So all together, it cooks around 18-19 hours. I’ve never had a problem with the chicken getting burnt, but that could also be because our crock pot is probably older than most. 

Leave a comment