Weekly Workout Schedule & Cinnamon Vanilla Almond Swirl Protein Bars with Peanut Butter!

I haven’t blogged in foreevvverrrr! I haven’t really had any urge to lately, but I realized I should probably write this (or type this) down somewhere that way I’d have it to refer back to whenever I want to change up my workouts or I plateau. This post is pretty much for myself to refer back to but maybe it could give someone some ideas on how to break up their workouts! I’ve finally found a workout split that works perfectly with my time (with going to school & working) and doesn’t make me hate the gym, though I do typically spend 1.5- 2 hours there most days of the week. Here is what has been working really well for me lately:

Sunday: 20-30 minutes moderate intensity steady state cardio; chest, back, & rear delts

Monday: 20 minutes HIIT sprints on elliptical, 5 minutes HIIT sprints on treadmill; Abs, lower back, & hamstrings

Tuesday: No cardio (unless feeling like it); Biceps, triceps, & shoulders

Wednesday: 40-45 minutes moderate intensity steady state cardio

Thursday: 20 minutes HIIT on elliptical & treadmill; 10 minute steady state run on treadmill; 10 minutes elliptical; Quads & booty

Friday: No cardio (unless I feel like it); Abs & lower back (might take Stihly or Rogue on a long walk)

Saturday: 40-45 minutes steady state cardio

I started doing abs twice a week a few months ago and that extra session really has made a big difference… and the fact that I no longer buy PB2 because I have NO willpower with it. I’ve also started doing the ab roller for just 10 reps most nights of the week before I shower which surprisingly firms up my lower abs so much.

Also, I do all of my weight lifting in super sets. Pick 3 exercises and do them back to back and rest for a very short time then repeat twice. For example: On hamstring day, I will do 10-12 straight leg deadlifts, then immediately do 10-12 sumo dead lifts (legs in wide stance, toes pointed out), then right into 10-12 hamstring curls on a stability ball. I’ll rest for 30-45 seconds, then repeat the circuit 2 more times. It makes workout go by much quicker. Usually I do 3 supersets (9 exercises) for each day I lift.

 

Cinnamon Vanilla Almond Swirl Protein Bread/Bars with a Lil Peanut Butter!

IMG_1209

Ingredients:

(dry ingredients)
-3 scoops vanilla whey protein (I use ELITE Gourmet Whey+Casein in French Vanilla)
-1/2 cup + 2 tbsp of rolled oats (grind oats into oat flour using a blender)
-1 tbsp whole wheat flour
– 5 Truvia packets to taste (I usually use 4 or 5)
-1/4 tsp baking soda
-1/4 tsp baking powder

-1 tsp cinnamon (don’t add to dry ingredients yet)

-1 more packet Truvia (don’t add to dry ingredients yet)

-Crushed up almonds

-Natural Peanut Butter (I have Naturally More brand)

(wet ingredients)
-1/2 cup egg whites
-1 egg
-1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce
-4 tbsp plain 0% Greek yogurt
-splash of unsweetened almond milk
– 1 tsp olive oil (coconut oil is great too)
-1 tsp vanilla extract
-1/4 (or less) tsp almond extract

Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Blend oats into oat flour using the blender or magic bullet. Then mix oat flour, whole wheat flour, protein powder, 5 truvia packets, baking soda & baking powder in a bowl. Then, blend egg, egg whites, applesauce, yogurt, almond milk, olive oil, vanilla & almond extracts in the blender. Add the wet ingredients to dry ingredients. Stir really well and pour into baking dish that has been sprayed with non-stick spray. Then, mix cinnamon and packet of Truvia in a tiny bowl to make “cinnamon sugar.” Sprinkle cinnamon sugar over the batter. Use a knife and draw little waves in the batter…then sprinkler crushed up almonds on top. Last, I take liiiiitle tiny bits of peanut butter and put them in random places in the batter (weird i know). I probably use about 1 tbsp worth, if that. Bake until fork comes up clean!

Anyway, that’s all I’ve got! Have a lovely snow day!

Image

old picture; when Stihl and I were starting (finally) to bond with eachother 🙂

Leave a Reply

